Hartford Baking Company (West Hartford)

(photo credit: Yuchen Z. of Yelp)

Over the past year and a half it has become my absolute favorite spot in the area.  When I think about my upcoming move down to the Connecticut shore, I know that this is the place I will miss most out of all the other places I go.  I’m so much of a regular that I’ve become friendly with many of the employees as well as many of the other regular patrons.  It is my top choice for all of the following:  getting work done with the free wifi, picking up my favorite cold brew coffee ever, and/or having breakfast or a snack.

(photo credit: Scott K. of Yelp)

As much as I loved their brie and jam for breakfast, I used to pray that they’d create an scrumptious breakfast sandwich – something a little more substantial.  One day, soon after, their HBC egg sandwich was born:  two eggs, aged Cabot cheddar, spiced potatos, and onion jam on a pain de mie roll.  It is fabulous.  I used to think the potatoes were superfluous but after having the sandwich a few times I now think it is pretty perfect.

(photo credit: Hartford Baking Company Facebook page)

I continue to love their baked goods:  scones in all the flavors, financiers, brioche.  Their bread cannot be beat.  The sticky buns, cakes + cupcakes, and and other sweet treats always catch my eye with their beauty.  Recently, they’ve introduced other new stuff like their own version of a grab-and-go oatmeal blend, homemade granola bars, and more sandwich options.  I had their tuna melt last week and it was was heavenly, especially coupled with their flawless cappuccino – another “best ever.”

(photo credit: Sarah D. of Yelp)

It’s been incredible, and a great honor, to watch HBC grow and flourish over the past year.  As more and more people became aware of it’s awesomeness, it has gotten busier and busier but remains a cozy and wonderful place.  Without a doubt, this will be the place I miss the most after I move.

(photo credit: Alex K. of Yelp)

P.S. – They were kind enough to share their cold brew method with me.  That was one of the best moments of my life.  I love Hartford Baking Company!

625 New Park Ave
West Hartford, CT 06110
(860) 570-1579

Leave a Reply

