Burtons Grill (South Windsor)

Image

I decided to come here for lunch on Sunday since it had been a long time since my last visit.  So happy with that decision because I had an impressively delicious lunch that I’ve continued to think about throughout the week.

The spacious restaurant was about half full when we arrived.  We were seated right away  and brought bread and a tasty garlic and herb butter spread.  I ordered the Steak Sandwich, described on the menu as:  “seasoned, grilled sirloin served on griddled ciabatta with a pesto cheese spread, roasted red peppers, arugula and provolone cheese, drizzled with barbeque ranch, served with hand cut french fries.”

Holy deliciousness.  The flavors went together beautifully!  The steak, which I requested at a medium doneness, was more medium rare in some bites.  I didn’t mind at all, but I’m sure it would have freaked some people out.  I ate half for lunch and tried to save the other half for lunch the next day, but I could not.  Later that night I had to have the other half for dinner since I enjoyed it so much earlier in the day.

The fries?  They were the best I have had since I went to Nosh in Portland, ME a couple years ago and overdosed on their bacon-dusted fries.  The difference is that these didn’t have any special magic bacon powder fairy dust coating them.  They were just flawless in their simplicity from the perfect execution on the part of the chef.  Well done, crispy crunchy (dark caramel/tan in color) exterior with a soft and smooth inside.  Un-freaking-believable.  I was so addicted, I continued to mindlessly eat them even as the waitress was taking away the plate. I told her, “I’m sorry.  Those fries are like magnets to my fingers.”

Image

100 Evergreen Way
South Windsor, CT 06074
(860) 432-4575

Leave a Reply

