Noodles & Company (West Hartford)

Yesterday I got to try Noodles & Company for the first time – for free!  How, you ask?  A  coupon for a complimentary bowl of noodles for my birthday that i discovered from my Yelp friend Lesley.   Thanks, Lesley!

I came alone for lunch and the place was completed mobbed when I arrived between 12:30 and 1pm.  There was a line of people waiting to order and every table was full even though the place is not small.  Like everyone else in line I visually scanned the room for a place to sit.  By the time I placed my order a table had opened up.  I took my little number indicator and placed it on the table.  This is how they find you to bring you your noodles when they’re done cooking, by the number on your table.

I tried the truffle mac and cheese and had a small garden salad on the side.  The truffle mac was slightly above average with al dente noodles, a good amount of woody mushrooms throughout the dish giving it depth of flavor and texture, a nice truffle taste that was noticeable, fresh herbs that were almost a little overwhelming, and shaved parmesan.  While I liked it, it wasn’t what I was expecting – an ooey gooey baked macaroni and cheese texture.  Instead, it seemed like the noodles were cooked first then everything was thrown together in the bowl, which makes sense from a business perspective, considering all the other noodle dishes they have.  But, it was still pretty good.  I’d get it again.  The salad was ok, serviceable.  The balsamic dressing that came with it was better than balsamic  that I recently had at a more “upscale” restaurant.

333 N Main St
West Hartford, CT 06117
(860) 206-9986

Leave a Reply

