1249 Wine Bar (Waterbury)

I stopped by last week for a glass of wine and dinner after work since it’s very close to one of the offices where I work.  Since I was alone I sat at the bar.  A quick glance through the drinks list revealed many intriguing martinis, cocktails, beers and, of course, wine.  I knew right away what I wanted when I saw it:  a glass of Dr. Loosen riesling.

IMG_0947IMG_0944

Trying to decide on dinner wasn’t hard either.  Even though a red wine likely would have been more suitable to pair with it, or perhaps a beer, I got the 1249 Burger since that’s what my heart desired at the moment that I ordered.  I also liked that it came with a salad.  If it had come with fries I would have been tempted to keep the fries and not switch it out for a salad, but I appreciated this built-in healthier side.  I placed the order with Greg, the bartender, who also got me the glass of wine.

IMG_0957 IMG_0958 IMG_0967

While I waited for the burger and salad an orange creamsicle shooter and a  pickled beet and creme fraiche amuse bouche was brought out to me.  I enjoyed both and thought it was a nice touch.  Last time I was here we also had some great shooter and amuse bouches.  That is one of my favorite things about this place.

IMG_0964

When the burger came I was initially alarmed by the size of the bread that the meat was sandwiched between.  At first I thought it was too much bread, but after my first bite I realized that it was of the crunchy on the outside but fluffy on the inside variety, making it look bigger and more dense than it actually is.  Few things are worse than a burger with bread so big that it draws the attention away from the star of the show – the meat patty.  The burger was pretty good overall.  Far from being the most flavorful burger I’ve had but I found it to be satisfying.  The salad was dressed in garden variety balsamic dressing.

IMG_0950 IMG_0952

One thing I like about this place is there is a wall with shelves of wine that divides the bar area from the dining room.  The slight separation (it’s not completely blocking off the dining room, but enough to distinguish the two areas) was done tastefully.  The bar area had filled up by the time I was midway through dinner and the scene was very lively but it never got too loud since there is only so much room.  There are no bar tables, only the seats available right at the bar which isn’t very big.

IMG_0970

A good time at the bar coupled with the excellent dinner I had in the main dining room a number of months ago will keep me coming back for more.

1249 W Main St
Waterbury, CT 06708
(203) 756-1249

Leave a Reply

