Fromage Fine Foods & Coffees (Old Saybrook)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another little gem on the shoreline!  Holy cow (and goat)!  This place is remarkable.  I had no idea that they sold more than cheeses until we stopped by for the first time a couple of weeks ago.  My jaw dropped in awe over all the products they sold in addition to their variety of a hundred different cheeses, some local, some from nationally known creameries, and some international.  Browsing through the store I was overwhelmed by all the products.  Truly a gourmand’s dream.

I walked around taking it all in:  the section of pastas and sauces, the cured meats, foie gras, truffle butters, pates, the rows of mustards, oils, vinegars, salts, peppers, teas, cookies, too many things to name.  The coolest salt and pepper holders caught my eye and struck my fancy.  Neat looking bags, from lunch bags to grocery totes, were also hung around the store ready for a buyer.  A set of espresso cups would have gone well with the new espresso machine I just got for Christmas.  In the front of the store were lots of gift baskets, all marked down in price now that the holidays have drawn to a close.  Prices didn’t seem to be too bad.  As an example, the truffle butter here is a dollar more than other places I have seen it, while the same box of Maldon sea salt flakes I just bought at Sur La Table (Canton) costs a dollar less here.  As the name of the store implies, they do sell coffee here too, at the back of the store, and some baked treats.

On to the cheeses.  There was such a huge variety it was hard to choose.  They are all laid out in the middle of the store in rounds, wedges, blocks, and each cheese was labeled.  The display as a whole is a cheese lovers paradise.  I asked for a recommendation for a harder cheese for us to try since my guy isn’t fond of soft cheeses and the person who helped me gave an excellent recommendation of the Midnight Moon (a firm goat’s milk cheese aged at least for one year that had a lovely nutty and buttery flavor and a beautiful smooth and slightly grainy texture that aged cheeses tend to have).  She graciously and skillfully cut me a few slivers to sample before I purchased and I was sold!  If I had more time I would have sampled and bought a few more cheeses.  All of them looked great.  I cannot wait to come back!

Check out their cheese checklist!

873 Boston Post Rd
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
(860) 388-5750

Leave a Reply

