East West Grille (West Hartford)

In search of another local lunch special, I thought I’d hit up East West Grille to see what they had to offer.  Since I didn’t see any lunch specials listed on their website I called to inquire and was told, “it’s just three dollars less than the regular dinner price off any dish.”  When I finally obtained a take-out menu in person, that turned out to be more or less the case, but I still found it to be kind of annoying that exact prices are not listed online.

Yesterday I came in and picked up chicken yellow curry and drunken noodles with beef for lunch.  I had been craving chicken yellow curry but didn’t have time to go get the ingredients, do the prep work, then throw it all together on the stovetop so  I thought getting takeout was a good option.  Knowing my schedule was going to be pretty tight the rest of the week, I thought I’d get another entree to have some variety and to make each last a little longer, and that’s where the drunken noodles with beef decision came in.

The chicken yellow curry had a mild sauce on the thinner side that isn’t as flavorful as the one I make at home.  It was ok.  On the menu it’s listed as having: choice of protein, coconut milk, onions, carrots, potatoes and sliced bamboo.  No bamboo in my curry, but that’s perfectly fine because it included sliced zucchini and summer squash as well as mushrooms that weren’t in the menu description.  The potatoes were a nice combination of red bliss potatoes and sweets.  There was a lone piece of purple potato too.  Loved all the different kinds of potato in this dish.

The drunken noodles (pad kee mao) I got with beef had tomatoes, onion, broccoli, red and green bell peppers, and basil leaves.  There was also cauliflower, a pleasant surprise that was also not listed on the menu.  I loved the tomato in this dish.  Gave it just the right among of tang to cut the heat.  The beef, however, was incredibly overcooked.  Meh.  Shoulda gone with the tofu, I guess.  The noodles themselves were cooked nicely and had great flavor.

I’ve dined in before and I’ve always liked the food, but never loved it.  This time was no different.  I guess that’s the reason I haven’t been in a while even though I live close by.  The ambience is fun and different – lots of red, strings of paper lanterns hung above dining areas, casual feel in a converted diner car.  Interestingly, a few tables are available outside for al fresco dining for those who enjoy the bustling view of New Park Ave.

Will I return?  Maybe, but it won’t be my first choice especially with all the other options for similar food in the area.

526 New Park Ave
West Hartford, CT 06110
(860) 236-3287

Leave a Reply

