La Cuisine (Branford)

Most breakfast sandwiches are not much more than a means to get you through the morning and tide you over until lunch time comes around.  Not the case here with their Breakfast Buddies, as they’re called at this cute establishment.  The ones here are really something special.

A Breakfast Buddy is listed on the menu as an English muffin, fried egg, cheddar, and choice of ham, bacon or sausage.  At first glance it doesn’t seem all that interesting or exciting – a standard option, but let me tell you something….the one I had this morning with ham was seriously one of the best breakfast sandwiches I have ever had.  What made it so damn delicious? The English muffin ain’t your regular Thomas’, it was a spectacular fluffy beauty that held together a perfectly cooked egg, melty cheddar cheese and a flavorful thick piece of top quality ham.  It was not a breakfast sandwich that I’d soon forget about.  I “mmm…”ed my way through the entire thing.

I’ve driven by La Cuisine countless times and when I stopped in to pick up the breakfast buddies today I was surprised to find it to be a charming cafe inside with tables full of patrons enjoying their weekend brunch.  I guess I had always fixated on the word “catering” on their sign during my drive-bys.  Glass cases filled with gorgeous pastries (chocolate croissants, hot cross buns, muffins) and cookies first welcomes you and as you walk toward the counter you pass the market case that has tasty-looking offerings like Asiago chicken.

Beautifully decorated Easter cookies in shapes of carrots, bunnies, and eggs caught my eye when I was in today.  Sugar cookies aren’t my favorite so I didn’t get those, but instead went with one chocolate chip cookie and a white chocolate and cranberry cookie.  The cowboy cookies were huge and tempting, a similar concept to “everything but the kitchen sink” cookies, but I had to pass them up as I had to save my sweet tooth for some cupcakes I’d be picking up from a cupcake bakery later on in the day.

The chocolate chip cookie definitely had yum factor but the cranberry and white chocolate cookie stole the show with a magnificent combination of sweetness from the white chocolate chips, tartness from the cranberries, and bursts of bright freshness from orange zest dispersed throughout the round piece of heaven.

Can we go again tomorrow?

– – –

4/15/12 Update:

We dined in for breakfast today.  We arrived at 11am and, surprisingly, it wasn’t as busy as it was when I came in to pick up the Buddy’s last weekend.  There were others there but also plenty of tables open.  Since I had a huge snack (part of last night’s leftovers of pot roast) prior to coming I wasn’t very hungry so I ordered a single chocolate chip pancake, a fruit salad and an orange juice.  Everything was amazing.

The o.j. was fresh squeezed and I enjoyed every last drop.  The fruit salad contained cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple and grapes and there was a good-sized portion of it served in a bowl.  The pancake…oh, the pancake.  One bite and I regretted having only ordered one.  The base is a beautiful, fluffy, buttermilk pancake and it was laden with a generous sprinkling of bittersweet chocolate chips that were crunchy on the parts that hit the griddle but burst into melty, heavenly chocolate with each bite.  Glorious.  My man got the corned beef hash with scrambled eggs and that came with toast.  The corned beef hash is made in house and had huge chunks of flavorful meat.  Scrumptious.  This place?  A new favorite breakfast spot.

Love x a million.

750 E Main St
Branford, CT 06405
(203) 488-7779

Leave a Reply

